The semi-psychedelic sound of Phantom Electric is a unique mixture of alternative rock created by Nick Whitson and producer Kristofer Sampson featuring a rotating cast of heavy hitting Atlanta-based musicians.

First conceived in 2013, Phantom Electric began as a collection of demos while Nick Whitson was in Atlanta-based rock band Alchemy with Sean and Sami Michelsen. By Summer of 2015 Whitson rallied a group of friends together to record the first installment of Phantom Electric with Atlanta producer Kristofer Sampson, "Friends," which debuted in October 2017, featured two singles "Friends” and "Feels". The recordings 

feature Atlanta-based musicians Daniel Draddy, Peter Norman (Spectralux), Matthew Pendrick (Slow Parade), Isaac London, and old bandmates Sean & Sami Michelsen (Reptile Room). Phantom Electric's 2017 release "Friends" was well received by the press. Recognized for their mature songwriting capabilities as well as their ability to seamlessly combine an eclectic mixture of influences and sounds.


Shortly after the release Phantom Electric went quiet for a period of time. Whitson began performing and touring with Rumours at the end of 2017 until March of 2019. In between tours, Whitson began working with producer Kristopher Sampson on Phantom Electric's follow up release. The new music will include collaborations with prominent Atlanta rockers such as Kyle Gordon (Mammabear), Ben Davidow (Buzzards of Fuzz / Gas Hound), and guests from Phantom Electric's previous release, "Friends".


August 23rd 2019, Phantom Electric released their liquid banger, "Tell Me," a cross-genre audio dream penned by Nick Whitson and produced by close creative collaborator Kristofer Sampson. "Tell Me," begins with turbine synths that propel you into the skies of a brilliant semi-psychedelic soundscape charged by the hard hitting drums of Daniel Draddy and supported by funk inspired reverberated guitars backed by a thick dream-wave bass melody.  Whitson's intimate melancholic vocals gently sweep you through a sonic journey of revolving synths, percussion, and layered voices showcasing the talented cast of contributors: Ben Davidow, Matthew Pendrick, Peter Norman, Kyle Gordon, Sean & Sami Michelsen.


The 2019 release, "Tell Me," was a clear indicator that Phantom Electric can push the sonic boundaries, floating across the rock genre spectrum, exploring new sounds. “Tell Me,” is reflective of Phantom Electric’s ambient and funk influences, hosting a downtempo dance groove with an array of synths and other instruments to give the song a modern dream pop feel similar to Tame Impala with low suave vocals like The National. 


Phantom Electric continues to evolve their sound with the upcoming release, “Modern Culture,” a huge leap from their previous release, “Tell Me.” “Modern Culture,” a double-A, features two socio-politically charged singles. The sounds are influenced by BRMC, NIN, QOTSA, and Foo Fighters - heavy guitars, slamming drums, fat bass, and loud rock vocals. It’s pretty clear Phantom Electric can create a variety of sounds and prefers not to stick with just one, a true alternative style rock band - Phantom Electric evolves with no boundaries.